Don’t Curse the Universe

Sunny Frazier 2Returning guest blogger Sunny Frazier, whose first novel in the Christy Bristol Astrology Mysteries, Fools Rush In, received the Best Novel Award from Public Safety Writers Association, shares her thoughts on the pitfalls of making publication choices.

sunny69@comcast.net

http://www.sunnyfrazier.com
************

I meet many aspiring writers who have their career arc planned out. They have it broken down into steps similar to outlining a novel. 1) Write a book; 2) Get an agent; 3) Get a multi-book contract with a big house; 4) Go on a book tour; 5) Get offered a film contract; 6) Become famous; 7) Repeat steps 1, 4 and 5.

Most published authors have more realistic expectations. They settle for a contract with a smaller press, hustle to do their own marketing and work furiously to finish another book. Their career is secure.

Wrong.

The book biz is full of promises and pitfalls. I have a friend who had two publishers die and one throw in the towel (and destroyed all the book stock). My first book was picked up by a major publishing house only to change editors and my book got tossed. I managed to land the agent of a best selling author until my writing teacher hounded her to the point she wouldn’t work with me anymore.

Talk to any author who has been around the block and you will hear horror stories. Books that never made it to conferences. Royalties going unpaid. I remember in the early 90’s when large houses eliminated many mystery lines. Lots of mid-list authors found themselves with contracts not worth the paper they were written on.

Worst story ever: I was in the audience listening to an author urge us to forget small publishing and hold out for a large publishing house. While he was pushing his agenda, his publishing house announced it was folding. Ouch!

The trick to surviving anything in life is flexibility. Never assume the status quo will be the same tomorrow. Recognize that there are too many variables out of our control that nevertheless impacts our plans. Roll with the punches, make lemonade out of lemons, insert any platitude you like.

Fools Rush In 2Here’s a game plan I recommend. First, make a list of all possible options. Agent, large house, small house, self-publishing. Research and list those that seem attainable. It’s natural to hold on to that first novel and stress out trying to find the best move to make. I’ve watched writers spin their wheels over a decade through indecision. My motto is “You can’t promote something that doesn’t exist.” The goal is to get your writing out there so you have a career to work with.

They say the best time to job hunt is when you have a job. I recommend writers who have a contract and are working well with their publishing house still take the time to come up with a Plan B. You may never need it, just like you may never need a life jacket when you go on a cruise, but it’s nice to know it’s there. Continue to network, keep up with changes in the industry. Do it while there is no pressure. That way if any scenarios I’ve listed above happen to you, you’re ready.

What you don’t want to do is lock yourself into the notion of what works today will work tomorrow. The economy changes, reading tastes change, department heads change, publishing houses change direction. You’re writing vampires and suddenly zombies are all the rage.

Adapting to change is the art of survival. Failure is a choice. Don’t make it yours.

24 thoughts on “Don’t Curse the Universe

  1. Excellent post-not sure if that was me you were referring to about the publishers who died (yep two of mine did) and I’ve had three who’ve quit the business for various reasons. I’ve been fortunate to find small presses who were willing to pick up my series–not always easy.

    Like

  2. Excellent advice! I, too, have heard horror stories. I have an author friend who spent a lot of money to go to a conference and was left out of the program and then her books didn’t arrive. She’s gracious enough to have soldiered on, but that’s just an example of what can happen–no matter how diligently you work.

    it took me a long time to recognize my dream of being published and I’m really happy with my publisher. But before it happened, I was gearing up to publish myself. I have a couple of manuscripts that haven’t found a publishing home that I’m thinking of polishing up and self-publishing because I believe in them. What luck to have that new, vibrant option.

    Like

  3. The advice on being flexible about publishing options sounds simple, but is one that I haven’t heard mentioned before, though it’s probably one of the most important for today’s authors. Thank you for putting it so well.

    Like

  4. Good points, Sunny. Flexibility is a must in this business. There are options for everyone. We just need to open our eyes.
    Marilyn, you are a role model for anyone serious about changing with the times and the markets.
    I went with a large publisher and don’t regret it. I believe in starting at the top, and if you must, working your way down. However, I have a great relationship with a small press that took one of my young adult books. Every time I have been orphaned or had a door close in publishing, the window really has opened.

    Like

  5. Thanks for another great post, Sunny. It’s important to remember to be flexible, and that doesn’t mean just with a writing career. It’s great advice for any facet of a person’s life. And thanks also to Marilyn. The rest of us can learn so much from you both!

    Like

  6. Valuable advice, Sunny. Being flexible is important in any aspect of life. The first magazine article I ever sold went to a journal that folded before the article was published. My first novel went to an e-house that went bust within months of publication. Same thing with the second novel. Fortunately I found a good small publisher for that one.

    Like

  7. You totally nailed it! I thought I knew what I was doing, and had everything figured out. However, I was way off. This whole writing thing is tricky, from manuscript to print to promotions. I’ve learned to be flexible, yet as my bones stiffen and I become more stubborn, it isn’t easy. Recently, I’ve adopted the “glass half full” concept. It works. It really works. I had a door slammed in my face, yet two more opened right away. Initially I felt as though I failed for not seeing something for what it was, but then I thought about all the great people I’ve met, the stories I’ve been able to tell, and decided I’ve been rather successful. I will strive to adapt to the industry and I will not give up. Your blog today was inspiring and insightful. Thank you for sharing it.

    Like

    • You learned early and the hard way, but the important thing is that you learned. And I’m glad you are focusing on the positive elements. Let’s just say, nothing will be as tough or heartbreaking moving forward. Hopefully, the worst is behind you.

      It’s a tough industry, but you are tougher.

      Like

  8. I feel I was lucky to end up choosing a small press after looking at big houses and agents because it was such a natural fit with me. But you’re so right that it’s easy to get complacent when you’ve found a nice safe niche. While writers definitely need to follow the path they are comfortable with, they also need to be prepared for whatever comes their way because the publishing world is always evolving and changing. I don’t believe in obstacles, only challenges waiting to be overcome.

    Like

  9. Great post, Sunny! I’ve found that, in life, and in my writing career, it always pays to have a plan B. My dad was fond of saying, “Man plans; God laughs.” Never more true than in the world of publishing.

    Like

  10. Great post, as always, Sunny. I’ve always felt it’s important to know every aspect of whatever profession you choose. Even though my books were published by a small traditional publisher I read up on indie publishing just in case I should choose that route someday. I’m grateful for that decision because my publisher closed suddenly this summer due to the tragic death of one of the owners. Because of the information I’d accumulated and the support of other indie writers, and a wonderful cover artist and line editor who worked tirelessly with me, I was able to re-release my books in less than 6 weeks. They are doing great and I love having control of all aspects of the process. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving, Sunny and Lelia.

    Like

  11. How can the poor writer know what’s going to happen in the publishing industry when the long-time professionals in the industry do not know. If you haven’t consider options, now is the time to start. Thanks, Sunny, for pointing out what might seem obvious, but which is largely overlooked by most.

    Like

    • I know authors, especially new authors, who think it won’t happen to them. Most of us who have been at this awhile have our war stories. Maybe we should share them more, not to burst bubbles but as cautionary tales.

      Like

  12. My “career” has taken many side trips, blind alleys, and even long hiatuses.

    I remember hearing a well respected author speak at a conference and he said that when he got published that that would be it. He’d made it, and he wouldn’t have to worry anymore. Then he found out that every pitch he gave, every project he pursued was like starting over. As if he’d never published before.

    I don’t think there is really any “end”. A writing career is an ever evolving, ever changing animal.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.