Book Review: Paw of the Jungle by Diane Kelly @DianeKellyBooks @StMartinsPress

Paw of the Jungle
A Paw Enforcement Novel #8
Diane Kelly
St. Martin’s Paperbacks, November 2019
ISBN 978-1-250-19737-5
Mass Market Paperback

From the publisher—

Police officer Megan Luz and her K-9 partner in crime, Brigit, are on all fours as they try to solve their latest Lone Star mystery.

AT THE ZOO

The weather is beautiful, work is slow, and her canine colleague could use a walk. What better day for Megan to take Brigit to the Fort Worth Zoo, where they can let loose and witness the law and order of nature unfold? But what begins as a fun field trip turns serious when a pair of rare hyacinth macaws named Fabiana and Fernando goes missing. Is the new custodian, a gentle soul who happens to be an ex-convict, to blame? Or is something far more sinister afoot?

AND ON THE HUNT

The birds are worth thousands of dollars, and the list of people on the premises who might have stolen them is long. Soon other animals start disappearing. . .and Megan and Brigit have their hands and paws full of suspects. But when a rare black rhino is taken from the zoo, presumably for its black-market-friendly horn, time is of the essence. Can Megan and Brigit find out who’s behind the mystery—before they too become prey?

Cozy mysteries featuring animals aren’t every mystery reader’s cup of tea, for sure, but there’s something about a K-9 that lifts the subgenre a little above the pack…pun intended 😉 If nothing else, the dog and his handler have a legitimate reason as well as the training to investigate and that’s certainly true with Megan’s and Brigit’s latest adventure.

Megan and Brigit are patrol officers, not usually involved in wildlife thefts and black market activities, but Megan has aspirations of getting into detective work and, when they’re fortuitously on site when two birds go missing, it’s a perfect chance for Megan to hone her detecting skills. Following various leads that arise with more animal-nappings, she—and the readers—learn a lot about poaching, trophy collecting, poorly run private zoos and the like. Meanwhile, the pair are also investigating some jewelry robberies.

Brigit sometimes shares her thoughts about her life, her duties and her love of treats, frequently  making me smile. She and her partner are pretty darned good at what they do and are very appealing. I’ll definitely be back for more.

Reviewed by Lelia Taylor, November 2019.

************

Purchase Links:
Barnes & Noble // Kobo // Amazon // Indiebound

************

About the Author

Diane Kelly is a former state assistant attorney general and tax adviser who spent much of her career fighting, or inadvertently working for, white-collar criminals. She is also a proud graduate of the Mansfield, Texas Citizens Police Academy. The first book in Diane’s IRS Special Agent Tara Holloway series, Death, Taxes, and a French Manicure, received a Romance Writers of America Golden Heart Award. Book #2, Death, Taxes, and a Skinny No-Whip Latte, won a Reviewers Choice award. Diane has combined her fascination with law enforcement and her love of animals in her K-9 cop Paw Enforcement series.

Website // Twitter // Instagram

************

“A complete winner . . . While part of a series, this cozy can be read
as a stand-alone and will be appreciated by animal lovers. Recommended
for readers of Spencer Quinn’s “Chet and Bernie” books.”―Library Journal

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Paw of the Jungle by Diane Kelly @DianeKellyBooks @StMartinsPress

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.