Spotlight on The Meaning of Blood by Chuck Caruso

************

Title: The Meaning of Blood
and Other Tales of Perversity
Author: Chuck Caruso
Publisher: Cloud Lodge Books
Publication Date: November 21, 2018
Genres: Mystery, Horror, Black Humor, Short Stories

************

Purchase Links:
Barnes & Noble // Indiebound // Amazon // Amazon UK

************

Synopsis

Sixteen tales of dark, transgressive fiction for fans of
Chuck Palahniuk, Elmore Leonard, and Edgar Allan Poe

In a near-future Pacific Northwest, a made-to-order sex robot
tests a married couple’s concept of fidelity; in the Tennessee
hills of 19th-century America, an itinerant preacher forces others
to prove their devotion to God — at gunpoint; and in a settlement
town of the Old West, a former outlaw seeking to rescue his
deceased brother’s family from a life of poverty discovers
to his horror the true meaning of blood.

In The Meaning of Blood and Other Tales of Pervesity, Edgar Allan Poe
scholar Chuck Caruso combines his deep roots in the American Gothic
with his own contemporary sense of macabre humor. These sixteen
stories of dark fiction range from crime thrillers to western noir to
grotesque horror. Each twisted tale displays Caruso’s unique blend of wry
prose, feverish storytelling, and tragically-flawed characters discovering
that even the most innocent encounter can lead to death. Or sex. Or both.

************

“A lethal cocktail of harboiled noir, gothic horror and more.”
—Paul D. Brazill, author of Last Year’s Man and A Case of Noir

************

About the Author

Chuck Caruso is a 19th-century Americanist and Edgar Allan Poe scholar. His crime and horror writing has been published in Cemetery Dance, Shroud, and Dark Discoveries. His first novel, The Lawn Job, won the Independent Publisher Award for Best Regional Fiction. Caruso lives in Seattle, Washington.

Website // Twitter // Facebook // Goodreads

************

“The Meaning of Blood screams (and I mean screams!) Edgar Allan Poe.
Caruso is more than a Poe expert. He’s practically Poe reincarnated,
channeling the master’s dark spirit to create stories that feel both
ominously gothic and totally fresh.” ―Steve Hockensmith, author of
the New York Times bestseller Pride and Prejudice and
Zombies: Dawn of the Dreadfuls

************