How to Stop the World

Returning guest blogger Sunny Frazier, whose first novel in the Christy Bristol Astrology Mysteries, Fools Rush In, received the Best Novel Award from Public Safety Writers Association, is here today with her thoughts on getting some control of one’s own life.

The third Christy Bristol Astrology Mystery, A Snitch in Time, is in bookstores now.

sunny69@comcast.net   //  http://www.sunnyfrazier.com

Who remembers a Broadway musical called “Stop the World—I Want to Get Off” from 54 years ago? Anthony Newley played Littlechap and the play is an allegory of stages of a human’s life. Littlechap is trying to navigate his life and when he gets overwhelmed he cries out “Stop!” He turns to the audience and explains or complains. The hit song from the production is “What Kind of Fool Am I?”

Recently I experienced much of Littlechap’s anxieties. As many of you know I recently got a kidney transplant. I had to stay in Portland for six weeks. It was much like a vacation only instead of coming home with a tan, I came home with a scar.

Waiting for me were 3,000 emails and an answering machine filled with messages. Overwhelmed, I started to go through them. Most of the messages weren’t really important. They were disposable.

It dawned on me that lately I’d spent much of my writing career not writing. Instead, I’d been taking up too many activities, got involved with groups that ate up my time and energy. Now I had tremors from the 38 pills I had to take daily. I had to wear a surgical mask in public. The doctors told me to cut out much of my social life and give myself time to recover.

I took their advice. I announced to all my contacts that I was going to be unreachable for a while. It was a drastic move and worried many of them. But I needed the hiatus. I had gone through some major changes, physically and mentally. So, I stopped my world, jumped off and took a good look at what was going on.

My solution? There’s a reason the computer has a delete key. I hit it and all those emails vanished. If they were important, it didn’t matter. They were gone from my life. I began to say “no” instead of agreeing to every task put before me. I didn’t answer phone calls. I hate cell phones and very few people have the number.

Could you do it? Could you detach from your life for a week? It’s your world to jump in or jump off. It’s your life and you should have control.

4 thoughts on “How to Stop the World

  1. Sunny, you have written eloquently of something I’ve been slowly coming to, but for different reasons. Now that I’m retired, everyone seems to think I have time to work on their nonprofit, and I have to push back. Could I disconnect from everything for a week or more? I really like that idea. I’m very glad to hear you’re on the mend. Good luck with your third mystery.

  2. This is also something ( deleting e-mails and shutting down) that has slowly encompassed me. It has taken so much of my time ( which is limited due to work). I want to write, too. I never have time to even read the books I really want to read. I love your trilogy, Sunny, and hope more is on the way.

  3. Good for you, Sunny. Few people deserve to do that more than you–you spent so many years doing so much for other people. I wish you the best of health and writing and healing. Stop the world any time you need to–you might not even see this comment 🙂 PS: I don’t have a cell phone either

    • The transplant team MADE me get a cell phone. I’ve never learned how to operate it and don’t want to learn.

Leave a Reply

