Book Review: Revolution by Jessica Frances

Revolution Jesssica FrancesRevolution
Jessica Frances
Jessica Frances, January 2016
Ebook
Also available in trade paperback

From the author—

I was raised in a world where humans no longer rule.

In the past, we made a terrible mistake by creating a new species we thought would serve us as our army, which led to our downfall.

There was a war, we lost, and many lives were massacred. It was the end of life as we knew it and the beginning of a hell we were now trapped in. We became enslaved to what we now called Superiors, becoming pets to them, simply there to entertain.

In a world so miserable, I managed to do the unthinkable: I fell in love. But even that was doomed, because to love a Superior was forbidden.

What the rest of the Superiors didn’t know was how deeply a human could love or how resilient we became when we were hurt.

The Superiors never could have imagined an uprising, which was why they never saw it coming.

Humans deserved to be free, and I would stop at nothing to deliver that promise.

My name is Tilly, and I am still alive with one sole purpose: to begin a revolution.

~

I had been raised to believe humans were worthless. We owned them and controlled them, and when we were done with them, we threw them away. Therefore, I never thought I would ever feel more for Tilly than disinterest. I never expected to want to save her.

It was forbidden for a Superior to love a human. No one had ever crossed that line, but I did. I fell madly in love with her, so it was no surprise how we ended up.

I was raised to be a soldier, and that was what I was always going to be. However, I was not a soldier for the Superiors, not anymore.

I became a soldier for humans, and I would stop at nothing to help them. They deserved to be free, and I would die protecting them.

My name is Johnny, and I am here with one sole purpose: to finish a revolution.

Ever since man first came up with the idea of developing a sentient artificial intelligence, we’ve been both fascinated and fearful. The benefits of such a creation are obvious but the downside is murky with consequences, not least of which is the possibility that these AI creations could become more powerful than humans and essentially take our place. Such is the world of Revolution and while the Superiors are not AI, the concept and the dangers are the same.

This is also a tale of the continual fight for human rights although in a setting far different from any of those similar battles being fought around our world today, yesterday and, no doubt, tomorrow.

Tilly and Charlotte, as pet/slave and mistress, have a unique relationship, caring for each other very much. When Tilly’s life in the family is reaching its end, Charlotte is the one who steps forward in defiance of her father, General Joseph Knight, to give Tilly a chance at a new existence. The two girls have a bond that shouldn’t be and it can’t be broken.

While Joseph is as cruel and abusive as any Superior can be, his son, Johnny, sees things…and Tilly…from a different perspective and the two find themselves with feelings for each other that simply must not be. Together, they’ll not only seek a path to happiness but also a way to change the future.

Ms. Frances is a new author to me and I’m happy to have “found” her. She has a way with words that drew me in and kept me riveted from the opening lines until the very end and her characterizations are vivid and compelling. Each of these people has strengths and weaknesses that make them stand out and I won’t soon forget them. The other thing the author did that I greatly appreciated was to create a story that is dark and yet ends with hope.

Revolution is a standalone so there’s no need to wait for the next book in a series and I’m grateful for that. I enjoy series but, every now and then, it’s nice to have a self-contained story. Ms. Frances has a nice backlist so I’ll have plenty of choices before her next book comes out.

Reviewed by Lelia Taylor, May 2016.

One thought on “Book Review: Revolution by Jessica Frances

Leave a Reply

