Confessions of an Almost Cured Introvert

Marilyn Meredith at Ridgecrest

Marilyn Meredith at Ridgecrest

F. M. Meredith who is also known as Marilyn Meredith is nearing the number of 40 published books. Besides being an author she is a wife, mother, grandma and great-grandmother. Though the Rocky Bluff she writes about is fictional, she lived for over twenty-years in a similar small beach town. Besides having many law enforcement officers in her family she counts many as friends. She teaches writing, loves to give presentations to writing and other groups, and is a member of Mystery Writers of America, three chapters of Sisters in Crime and is on the board of Public Safety Writers Association.

Website: http://fictionforyou.com
Blog: http://marilynmeredith.blogspot.com
Facebook: Marilyn Meredith
Twitter: MarilynMeredith

Anyone who knows me in-person or even as a friend on the Internet probably won’t believe that I was ever an introvert. I’m quite willing to get up and speak in public almost anywhere and about anything I’m passionate about—especially topics to do with writing or books.

I once quivered and suffered nervous attacks when I knew I had to give a speech, or even when attending a social engagement where I might not know anyone.

The first step to healing was when I became PTA president and the woman I took over for told me not to worry, there wasn’t anyone who wanted to be in my place. Four years of presiding over PTA certainly helped me be able to talk in front of people.

As for going to places where I might not know anyone, attending writers’ and mystery conferences and conventions are what helped me get over that fear. It didn’t take long for me to see there were plenty of people who were as scared as I was, if not more so, and that’s who I reached out to. Over the years, I’ve made many close friends with both readers and writers I reached out to in an unfamiliar place. I also learned that making friends with readers was the smart thing to do if I wanted new people to read my books.

It didn’t take me long to figure out when I was asked to participate in a forum with other authors—some much more famous than I’ll ever be—that if I can make people laugh, they’ll seek me out and buy my books.

You may wonder why I said “an almost cured introvert.” The reason is at times I have to make myself go to an event when it’s so much easier to stay home. However, I’ve come to realize that I’ll have a good time and I’ll meet many interesting people. With a smile on my face, I know I’ll make new friends.

Does anyone else have this kind of problem?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A Crushing DeathA Crushing Death

A pile of rocks is found on a dead body beneath the condemned pier, a teacher is accused of molesting a student, the new police chief is threatened by someone she once arrested for attacking women, and Detective Milligan’s teenage daughter has a big problem.

Purchase Links:

Barnes & Noble Buy Button        Amazon Buy Button

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Contest

Once again, the person who
comments on the most blogs
during this tour, can have a
character named after them in
the next Rocky Bluff P.D. mystery.
Tomorrow you can find me here:

http://www.thoniehevron.com/blog

21 thoughts on “Confessions of an Almost Cured Introvert

  1. Marilyn,
    I think we all have a bit of shyness in our makeup. I know I suddenly get shy when I’m about to meet a “famous” person, yet I can talk to any stranger standing next to me while shopping. As for speaking in public, I think the more we do it the easier it becomes.

    Like

  2. From one introvert to another, “Good for you!” Seems you’ve done well with speaking in public despite being an introvert. As for me, I know it’s possible for someone’s heart to leave the chest and become lodged in their throat because that’s what happens to me if I try to speak in public. 🙂
    @dino0726 from 
    FictionZeal – Impartial, Straightforward Fiction Book Reviews

    Like

  3. I’ve been where you were, Marilyn. What started the change for me was working in law enforcement when I was in my twenties. Believe me, cops won’t let you be introverted. : ) Excellent post and one many can relate to.

    Like

  4. I don’t like to be in social situation trying to make ‘small talk’ with strangers, but put a microphone in my hand… and look out! So, does that make me an introvert, a closet extrovert, or just plain in love with the sound of my own voice? Hummm….

    Like

  5. As you know, Larry is a total introvert. When we do presentations, I’m always more nervous for him than myself. Then he stands up and kills it! Everyone loves him. He jokes and speaks confidently. And I’m a nervous wreck.

    Like

  6. Oh, yes, Marilyn, I, too, am an “almost cured” introvert. I used to hold up the wall of any place I’d find myself… never ventured out where people actually were. And there are still times I feel the same way: what am I doing here? Why would anyone want to talk to me? What helped me was majoring in Theater in college… taught me to put on a persona and let it rip… and, of course, as you said, using humor is a great ice breaker for both sides. And here I’m a Leo, supposed to love being the center of attention. Well, I do, at times. Other times? Well, hunkering down at home is heaven… I let my characters be who I wish I could be! LOL

    Like

  7. I think we all have a little of “introvert” in us. Some of us warded it off over the years. You have about forty published books. That says a lot and you are in a position to stand on a stage and talk about them with pride.

    Like

  8. I’m a serious introvert but I do enjoy myself when I venture out of my comfort zone. I’m out of the zone so much it’s started to feel normal! I got over my fear of public speaking when I worked for a particular organization where I was expected to speak, often with no advance notice. My employers didn’t give me a choice in the matter.

    Like

    • Hi, Maggie, yes, it does get easier. I once was invited to a big event, and the day before found out I was the guest of honor and was expected to give a speech. Had a few moments of panic, and then it came to me what they’d most like to hear–all went well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

