Book Review: Karma’s a Killer by Tracy Weber—and a Giveaway!

Karma's a KillerKarma’s a Killer
A Downward Dog Mystery #3
Tracy Weber
Midnight Ink,
ISBN 978-0-7387-4210-6
Trade Paperback

From the publisher—

When Seattle yoga teacher Kate Davidson agrees to teach doga (yoga for dogs) at a fundraiser for a local animal shelter, she believes the only damage will be to her reputation. But a few downward-facing dogs are the least of Kate’s problems when an animal rights protest at the event leads to a suspicious fire and a drowning.

The police arrest Dharma, a woman claiming to be Kate’s estranged mother, and charge her with murder. To prove Dharma’s innocence, Kate, her boyfriend Michael, and her German shepherd sidekick Bella dive deeply into the worlds of animal activism and organizational politics. As they investigate the dangerous obsessions that drive these groups, Kate and her sleuthing team discover that when it comes to murder, there’s no place like hOMe.

It’s always nice to return to a series you’ve enjoyed before, isn’t it? That’s how I feel about Tracy Weber‘s books and visiting with Kate, Bella and Mike has once again given me a few hours of real pleasure.

The idea of holding a yoga class for dogs in a festival-like environment could be a good one but, of course, that would make life too easy for Kate. As it turns out, her misgivings are completely justified when a bunny shows up and chaos ensues but it’s the discovery of a body that really puts a damper on things. Kate can’t help being in the middle of it all since she witnessed an earlier argument but she’s truly unprepared for the personal surprise that’s coming her way, tying her even more closely to the crime. This time, she really does have a vested interest in solving the murder and the consequences will be devastating if she doesn’t clear the obvious suspect.

Ms. Weber crafts a fine cozy mystery but she goes a step further by including a topic that can be very controversial. Members of an animal rights organization much like PETA carry out a protest during the fundraiser and their behavior is both obnoxious and, to a certain extent, sympathetic. None of us want bad things to happen to animals but, in Karma’s a Killer, the reader has the opportunity to think about both sides of the issue. Even Bella becomes involved, being seen as a victim of abuse and neglect because of a misunderstanding.

Kate’s past and her reluctance to talk about it with her boyfriend, Mike, or her best friend, Rene, come to the fore in this series entry and she learns a lot about herself and her childhood. What she does with this will be crucial to her own wellbeing and possibly to her future with Mike. On the other hand, Kate might have a bigger problem with a pigeon named Mister Feathers 😉

Reviewed by Lelia Taylor, January 2016.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

To enter the drawing for an advance
reading copy of Karma’s a Killer
by Tracy Weber, leave a comment
below. The winning name will
be drawn Monday evening,
January 18th. This drawing is open
to residents of the US and Canada.

35 thoughts on “Book Review: Karma’s a Killer by Tracy Weber—and a Giveaway!

  1. Looks like a great new book by Weber. And even though it has a bit of a weighted issue, sounds like it is handled deftly. Thanks for the chance to win!
    JHolden955 (at)gmail(dot)com

    Like

  2. This sounds wonderful! I also do yoga and have for decades; since I have always had a dog, except for this past year, whenever I pulled out my yoga mat, I had a sudden visitor. Some of them were more tolerant of yoga ( and joining me) than others.

    Like

  3. What a fun sounding mystery. The whole thing about a yoga class for dogs and then things gearing up after a bunny shows up. Sounds good. I don’t understand the capital OM in the word home though. I’m sure it’s something simple, but I didn’t pick that up.

    Like

  4. I loved the first 2 books and I know I’ll love this one. Kate and Bella have a special place in my heart. (So does the real-life Tasha)

    Like

  5. I’m excited to read the next book. I’ve never done yoga but I love animals and adore reading mysteries with pets in them. We’re big supporters of our local humane society, where I adopted our 2 dogs, and interested to read about how the animal activism fits into the new book. I have read about different organizations and have found that you really do need to do your research before you donate.
    Thanks for the chance to win. Big hugs to Tasha.
    scarletbegonia5858@gmail.com

    Like

      • My grown children and their significant others ( perpetually engaged for years and years) all donate time and effort with the SPCA and the Humane Society; if I lived in a home and not a one-bedroom apartment, I would adore adopting a rescue dog, especially a shepherd or a mix, but my lifestyle and living arrangements make it impossible. I have always had Yorkies or teacup Yorkies and my little baby passed away last year. My son and his fiancé, when they are not working ( they both have jobs that require traveling and they all have dogs) volunteer their time with poor pit bulls who have gotten such a bad rap.

        Like

  6. I must read the first two books and look forward to the third. I have known you since you were a small girl and hope you have much success in your writing!!

    Like

  7. I read the first in this series but haven’t kept up (sorry to say). I like that this book goes into Kate’s past and that she learns a lot about herself from her childhood.
    @dino0726 from 
    FictionZeal – Impartial, Straightforward Fiction Book Reviews

    Like

Leave a Reply

