Spotlight on Shepherd’s Crook by Sheila Webster Boneham

Shepherds Crook

************

Title: Shepherd’s Crook
Series: Animals in Focus #4
Author: Sheila Webster Boneham
Publisher: Midnight Ink
Publication Date: October 8, 2015
Genres: Mystery, Cozy

************

Synopsis

Animal photographer Janet MacPhail has just arrived at a
sheep-herding competition with her Australian Shepherd, Jay,
when she learns that a dozen sheep have disappeared. Police
think the animals have wandered off in search of greener grass,
but Janet sees and hears things that convince her the sheep’s
owners are right—the animals have been stolen.

Janet knows she should leave the snooping to the police while she
attends to her own problems—new living arrangements, her mom’s
wedding plans, puppy and kitten antics, and extremists bent on
keeping people from having pets. But when a livestock handler turns up
dead and the sheep’s owner disappears, the police and a pair of thugs
pay Janet way more attention than she likes. She sets out to find
answers, putting herself and those she loves in the killer’s crosshairs.

************

Goodreads

Pre-order Links:

Barnes & Noble Buy Button        Amazon Buy Button        Indiebound Button 2

************

About the Author

Sheila BonehamSheila Webster Boneham writes fiction and nonfiction, much of it focused on animals, nature, and travel. Drop Dead on Recall (Midnight Ink, 2012) won the 2013 Maxwell Award for Best Fiction Book from the Dog Writers Association of American and was named a Top Ten Dog Book of 2012 by NBC Petside. The sequel, The Money Bird (2013) was a Maxwell finalist in 2014. Shepherd’s Crook, the fourth Animals in Focus Mystery, will be out in fall 2015. Six of Sheila’s nonfiction books have been named best in their categories in the Dog Writers Association of America (DWAA) and the Cat Writers Association (CWA) annual competitions, and her book Rescue Matters! How to Find, Foster, and Rehome Companion Animals (Alpine, 2009) has been called a “must read” for anyone involved with animal rescue. Her work has also been nominated for the Pushcart Prize in literary nonfiction. Learn more at http://www.writersandotheranimals.com or http://www.sheilaboneham.com

************

Praise for the Series

Drop Dead on Recall
The intricate plot has plenty of surprises, red herrings, and
interesting details about animals. Fans of Laurien Berenson or Susan
Conant will especially enjoy this pet-centered mystery.—Booklist

The Money Bird
Equal parts mystery and dog appreciation, with a dash of romance
thrown in for good measure, this second case for Janet and her
pals is accessible to fans of all three.—Kirkus Reviews

Catwalk
Janet MacPhail’s latest adventure will delight dog lovers, cat lovers,
and mystery lovers…. Five stars for Catwalk!” —
Susan Conant, author of The Dog Lover’s Mystery Series

Advertisements

One thought on “Spotlight on Shepherd’s Crook by Sheila Webster Boneham

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s