Book Review: Twilight is Not Good for Maidens by Lou Allin

Twilight Is Not Good For MaidensTwilight is Not Good for Maidens
A Holly Martin Mystery #3
Lou Allin
Dundurn, June 2013
ISBN 978-1-4597-0601-9
Trade Paperback

From the publisher—

Corporal Holly Martin’s small RCMP detachment on Vancouver Island is rocked by a midnight attack on a woman camping alone at picturesque French Beach. Then Holly’s constable, Chipper Knox Singh, is accused of sexually assaulting a girl during a routine traffic stop and is removed from active duty. At another beach a girl is killed. An assailant is operating unseen in these dark, forested locations.

The case breaks open when a third young woman is raped in daylight and gives a precise description of the assailant. Public outrage and harsh criticism of local law enforcement augment tensions in the frightened community, but as a mere corporal, Holly is kept on the periphery. She must assemble her own clues.

I have had a ridiculously hard time making myself write this review and it’s not because there’s anything wrong with the book. Although we never met face to face, I counted Lou Allin as a friend for many years and we lost this very good writer and most excellent chum just about the time I was planning to publish my review. You might say she took the wind right out of my sails but I can’t put it off forever, especially since I think a lot of my readers will really enjoy this book.

Twilight is Not Good for Maidens is the third entry in the series featuring a Mountie based in Vancouver and the romantic lure of that organization is what first drew me in despite the fact that this particular Mountie is a female. Holly is good at her job but she does have to contend with a certain amount of bias, even dismissal. This time, the fact that the crimes are attacks against women gives Holly a little bit of an edge but she still has to investigate without much support from her colleagues and she has to go that extra mile to prove herself and her theories. Unfortunately, public opinion is running against them, not helped by the accusations leveled against her fellow Mountie, Chipper.

Lou‘s descriptions of the setting pulled me in and she was especially good at making me truly experience the uneasiness, growing into fear, that the first victim, Maddie, felt alone in the dark edge of wilderness. I couldn’t help thinking that women today, especially young ones, can sometimes put themselves into really dangerous situations. I don’t mean to say that I think Maddie and the other victims were to blame in any way for what happened to them, any more than real life women are, but I do think a little caution and forethought is not a bad thing. A girl traveling alone, sleeping in a tent in a fairly remote area where cell phones don’t work, is pushing her luck. Evil things DO happen to innocent people so why make it easier for the bad guys? Even the book’s title alludes to this, taken from a poem by Christina Rosetti, “Goblin Market”:

Dear, you should not stay so late,
Twilight is not good for maidens;
Should not loiter in the glen
In the haunts of goblin men.

At any rate, leaving my soapbox aside, Holly’s pursuit of the truth, with clues leading her in all directions, is full of suspense and the secondary storyline of Holly’s search for answers in the ten-year-old disappearance of her mother is every bit as riveting. The pages turn almost on their own and I heartily recommend Twilight is Not Good for Maidens to anyone who likes a good police procedural with a very likeable and intelligent protagonist. Well done, Lou!

Reviewed by Lelia Taylor, June 2015.

One thought on “Book Review: Twilight is Not Good for Maidens by Lou Allin

  1. I miss Lou tremendously and counted her as a friend as well. We never met either with me here in Texas and her way up there. Still, we did the e-mail thing and she frequently wrote me regarding my wife with support and compassion. I was just starting to read this book when she passed and have not been able to bring myself to pick it up again. So, it sits in my TBR pile and awaits a time I can better handle things.

Leave a Reply

