A New Year’s Inspiration

Liz SchulteMany authors claim to have known their calling from a young age. Liz Schulte, however, didn’t always want to be an author. In fact, she had no clue. Liz wanted to be a veterinarian, then she wanted to be a lawyer, then she wanted to be a criminal profiler. In a valiant effort to keep from becoming Walter Mitty, Liz put pen to paper and began writing her first novel. It was at that moment she realized this is what she was meant to do. As a scribe she could be all of those things and so much more. Liz has a growing list of published books, including her latest mystery, The Ninth Floor

Website http://www.lizschulte.com/

Facebook  https://www.facebook.com/liz.schulte?fref=ts

Twitter @lizschulte

There’s a brand-spanking new year before us. It’s the time for resolutions, self-improvement, and starry-eyed dreams of what is to come. At least that’s the packaging the New Year is always wrapped up in.

I have made New Year’s resolutions in the past and I will probably make them again in the future, but not this year. Back in December I started my planning for the year to come (something I do every year). I make out my book schedule, rework my daily routine, and map out all the traveling I will do in the following year. Then I started thinking about resolutions.

I tried to remember what I resolved to do the previous year, but not one of them came back to me. Did I accomplish them? I had no idea. So I asked myself if I am going to forget the resolutions I made by the end of the year, is it worth even making them? The answer was no.

There was something else on my mind; it was something I had been thinking about for a while. The little things in life are sometimes more important than the big stuff we tend to focus on. Sure I want to be a New York Times best seller, but is that more important than the people who have been my friends my whole life? Of course not.

Instead of resolving to make changes in my life—we all know real change requires a lot more than just a resolution—I decided to make a list of things I would like to do more of. They are little things that maybe won’t make a huge difference, but then again, they might. This list inspires me every time I look at it. I am not taking something away from myself or telling myself that I am bad for wanting a cupcake. Instead I am giving myself permission to do the things I normally put on the backburner because somewhere in my drive to succeed these are the pieces of myself that get left behind.

Things I Should Do More Of:

  • The Ninth FloorWrite letters by hand
  • Exercise
  • Be thankful
  • Try new things
  • Send people cards for no reason
  • Learn new things (like Italian or Photoshop)
  • Hang out with friends
  • Read
  • Keep a diary
  • Laugh at myself
  • Let go of the things that make me angry
  • Enjoy the moment

It isn’t a revolutionary list. It isn’t going to change the world, but I think it will do something that is far too often forgotten. It will remind me that joy can be found anywhere in life if you just look for it.

2 thoughts on “A New Year’s Inspiration

Leave a Reply

