Book Review: Dead Broke in Jarrett Creek by Terry Shames—and a Giveaway!

Dead Broke in Jarrett CreekDead Broke in Jarrett Creek
A Samuel Craddock Mystery
Terry Shames
Seventh Street Books, October 2014
ISBN 978-1-61614-996-3
Trade Paperback

This is a fun, Texas small town murder mystery, with a victim that lots of people have a reason to kill. It’s an engaging read and a quick one.

As a town, Jarrett Creek and many of its people have hit hard times. I don’t know if small towns really have that many people involved in so much mischief but Jarrett Creek seems to have very few honorable people living there and although it’s fun to read about, I certainly wouldn’t want to live there. I did like Samuel Craddock, the former Chief of Police, and found lots of the characters fun or interesting.

There is so much going on in Jarrett Creek that I did not guess the ending and that always pleases me. The only issue I had with the book was that too many characters are introduced too quickly – I counted 14 just in Chapter 1. The good news is that eventually all the names and backgrounds get straightened out for the reader and it soon becomes clear who is important to the story and who isn’t.

This is the third in the Samuel Craddock series but it is the first book in the series that I’ve read and it reads easily as a standalone.

Reviewed by Constance Reader, October 2014.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

To enter the drawing for a trade paperback
copy of Dead Broke in Jarrett Creek by

Terry Shames, leave a comment below. The
winning name will
be drawn Tuesday evening,
October 28th.
This drawing is open to residents
of
the US and Canada.

21 thoughts on “Book Review: Dead Broke in Jarrett Creek by Terry Shames—and a Giveaway!

  1. This sounds good! I don’t like a predictable ending. I also like that it is a series book that reads like a stand alone. Thanks for the giveaway!

    Like

  2. I loved Terry’s first two books and in my humble opinion she is one of the real finds of this decade! I can’t wait to read this one – and would be so honored to get a free copy! Thelma in Manhattan

    Like

  3. I like to be challenged when I read, too, and it sounds like the kind of mystery I like to read. I’m also glad to hear I’m not the only one who has started a story with a large number of characters! 🙂

    Like

  4. Whoa, fourteen characters at the beginning. My first book (not yet out) has about 5 in the first chapter and I’m told I need to reduce the number. Other than that, this book sounds like a good read. Maybe someone can handle that number of characters depending on how they are introduced.

    Like

  5. This is a great read! Some of the fourteen characters introduced in Chapter One will be familiar to readers of Shames’ first two novels. Although this one is my favorite so far, I’d recommend starting with the first,
    A Killing at Cotton Hill.

    Like

  6. Pingback: How to Build Your TBR Stack | Buried Under Books

  7. i thoroughly enjoyed Terry’s first Samuel Craddock mystery. I met her at Left Coast Crime in 2014 and served on a panel with her. We had the opportunity to talk together and I preordered her book so I would be sure to have it early on. I would love to win the book give away of this latest installment of the series. Keep up the great writing, Terry!

    Like

Leave a Reply

