Spotlight on Third Rail by Rory Flynn—and a Giveaway!

Third Rail

************

Title: Third Rail
Series: An Eddy Harkness Novel
Author: Rory Flynn
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Publication Date: June 10, 2014

************

THIRD RAIL gets off to a ripping start and never lets off the gas.
Rory Flynn is a suspense writer to watch.”
– Jess Walter, author of the bestselling BEAUTIFUL RUINS
 
THIRD RAIL is an adrenaline-soaked tale of political corruption and
personal redemption that never lets up. Eddy Harkness, the self-destructive
Massachusetts narcotics detective at the novel’s center, is a worthy
successor to Robert B. Parker’s Jesse Stone.”
– Sean Chercover, author of the bestselling THE TRINITY GAME

************

A propulsive debut, first in an exciting new series,
in the tradition of Dennis Lehane and Robert Parker

At crime scenes, Eddy Harkness is a human Ouija board, a brilliant young
detective with a knack for finding the hidden something—cash, drugs,
guns, bodies. But Eddy’s swift rise in an elite narcotics unit is derailed
by the death of a Red Sox fan in the chaos of a World Series win, a death
some believe he could have prevented. Scapegoated, Eddy is exiled to
his hometown just outside Boston, where he empties parking meters
and struggles to redeem his disgraced family name.

Then one night Harkness’s police-issue Glock disappears. Unable to report
the theft, Harkness starts a secret search—just as a string of fatal accidents
lead
him to uncover a new, dangerous smart drug, Third Rail. With only a
plastic gun
to protect him, Harkness begins a high-stakes investigation
that leads
him into the darkest corners of the city, where politicians and
criminals
intertwine to deadly effect. With a textured sense of place, a
nuanced protagonist,
and a story that takes off from page one and
culminates in a startling finale,
Third Rail (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt;
June 10, 2014) has all
the elements of a breakout mystery success.

************

Goodreads

Purchase Links:

Barnes & Noble Buy Button     Kobo Buy Button     Amazon Buy Button     Indiebound Button.jpg

************

About the Author

 

Rory FlynnA powerful new voice in crime fiction.  A generally nice guy in Boston.

Rory Flynn is the pen name of acclaimed novelist Stona Fitch, author of five previous novels, including Senselessnow an independent feature film and a graphic novel.

In 2008, Stona founded the Concord Free Press, a independent publishing house that publishes and distributes original novels, asking only that readers make a voluntary donation to a charity or person in need, then pass their book on. The CFP has inspired generosity throughout the world—and created a new approach to publishing that has earned praise from publishing visionaries and readers.

Stona lives with his family in Concord, Massachusetts.

Author Links:

Website Button     Twitter Button     Facebook Button     Goodreads Button 2

************

To enter the drawing for a print copy of
Third Rail by Rory Flynn, leave a comment
below. The winning name will be drawn
Sunday evening, July 27th. This drawing is
open to residents of the US.

************

“A terrific debut…impressive, stylish, sophisticated. Readers will want to
see more of Flynn’s gritty Boston–and of Eddy Harkness.”
— Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Things heat up and bodies turn up in this high-powered police thriller.”
— Library Journal

“Glows with the kind of sawdust-dry humor regarding Boston, cops, and the
darkest of urban underbellies that you might find at 3 a.m.
in the back booth of a backstreet bar.”
– Boston Globe