Confessions of an Acquisitions Editor

Returning guest blogger Sunny Frazier, whose first novel in the Christy Bristol Astrology Mysteries, Fools Rush In, received the Best Novel Award from Public Safety Writers Association, explains why a query letter is not enough.

sunny69@comcast.net

http://www.sunnyfrazier.com

Small publishing houses work for me because I can’t seem to resist the urge to put my two cents in on how the publishing house works. I’m sure Simon & Schuster or Random House could care less about what I think on the way they run things, but I’ve had two publishers now who value my opinions. Let me tell you, it’s a heady feeling.

When my current publisher was backed up by the onslaught of query letters, I volunteered to lend a hand. Not that I know anything about acquisitions (is there a training manual somewhere?) but I know what I like to read. I’ve also studied the market and have an idea of what sells.

I loved all the letters I received. Some were funny, some were written by a quivering hand, all were hopeful. But, here’s where I went off the beaten path of query letter/synopsis/outline.

When I open e-mails, the first thing I look for is genre and word count. We are a strong genre house, our word count doesn’t exceed 85,000. This is the only way to make books cost effective, for both the buyer and the publisher. While main stream publishers push the idea that BIGGER is BETTER is a BLOCKBUSTER is a BESTSELLER, we have more realistic expectations. Sometimes the best novels come in small (55,000 words) packages.

I know all the writing books stress that the query letter is “The most important letter you’ll ever write.” Really? How about the letter to the IRS explaining that strange tax deduction? To Santa for a new computer? To Match.com to complain about bad hook-ups?

I don’t even read the query letter. Blasphemy!

The first thing I do is Google the writer’s name. I’m expecting to see at least a website. I’m hoping for many more hits. How active is the potential author on the Internet? Does this person blog? Have they joined any professional/social sites other than Face Book? What has this person been doing to foster their career goals?

Because it’s not just about the writing anymore. I lecture on marketing at conferences. My mantra: marketing starts the minute you decide you’re a writer. Waiting until the novel is finished puts you behind the pack. Name recognition is key. Why would anyone in the writing field want to withhold words, to refuse the reading public a sample of their “voice?”

I doubt if the big houses bother to investigate. I wonder if they even look at their slush pile before sending rejection notices. Although the expectation is that a big house will supply an endless marketing budget for the book of an unknown author, that’s not going to happen unless your name is Paris Hilton or Prince Charles. Marketing has become the responsibility of the author.

Although my publisher originally believed I wasn’t fair to authors, I convinced her that checking the writer’s “street creds” goes a long way to selecting authors working hard at their career goals. In my opinion, they are the ones who deserve a shot at publication.

But, that’s just me. And I’m the acquisitions editor.

25 thoughts on “Confessions of an Acquisitions Editor

  1. I’d like to add one more thing, there are all sorts of ways of promoting past the basic ways–it’s important to find what works best for you. Personally, I like a balance of online and in-person events.

    Sunny’s been my bud for years.

    Marilyn

    Like

  2. While I haven’t been a huge online presence, you make me feel that what I have done is well worth it. Plus it’s interesting to read about what you look for.

    Thanks, Sunny! You’re an encouragement.

    Marja

    Like

  3. Okay, I think Lelia and I expected some scathing emails on this piece. I’m encouraged at your comments and I’m very grateful that Lelia doesn’t ask me to hold back on my posts. I try to write what I’m passionate about and what I think needs to be said. This is a very respected website to be opinionated.

    Thank you for the opportunity, Lelia!

    Like

  4. Sunny, I love the way you look at things. I heartily agree that it’s important to know if an author who is querying you has dedication to promoting themselves.

    I recently met a man with a book in print who is very disappointed it isn’t selling. We were in a group and one extremely astute author gave him a gazillion things he could do and places that would welcome his book. He said he didn’t want to promote…just to write. I think that adequately explains why you need to give consideration to the goals of the writer. Thanks for a slice of reality.

    Like

  5. Sunny, you hold back? Ha! It was a pleasure to sit on the marketing panel with you at Killer Nashville. I also do some acqusition(ing?) from time to time. It amazes me at how many published writers do not have even a web site, and if they do it’s some off-the-wall name that nobody will connect with them. Thanks for the article. I’ve got your back.

    Like

  6. Sunny, I’m another new Oak Tree Press author, thanks to you. With the advent of Wild Oak Westerns, I now can’t help but think my previous writing credits, well-documented when my name is googled, is what convinced you (and Billie) to take a chance with me. I am so grateful, and it’s nice to learn not everything depends on that “killer” letter we all try to write.

    Carol

    Like

  7. Sunny, excellent post. As usual. It’s taken me awhile to believe in the importane of an “online presence” but am finally gettin the picture. That, and I did a litte math. 3 people at a signing vs I don’t know how many who read Facebook, blogs (especially this one) and other assorted on line opportunities. It makes you think. And, I’ve heard several other authors say their publishers check their web sites and what they are doing to promote on line on a regular basis,and I know that several of the publishers who have expressed interest in my latest book have checked on line before responding. Doesn’t mean we should cut out the book stores or libraries, but it sure means we need to ramp up our on line presence, and I appreciate your making the point so clearly. Besides, you can write your blog at home, in your robe with a cup of coffee right beside you. How nice is that. Kathleen

    Like

  8. Hey Sunny
    I love, love, love to read your stuff. It is always funny but also has info I need to know. I used to think I could get away with “just writing” and it would be enough. Thank God you found me and got me straightened out before I got too far into working on my book(s). “Just writing” would be enough if the only people I wanted to read my book were family and friends, but let’s face it, I already know they adore me and anything I do. I am hoping for a larger audience and you are teaching me (all of us) how to get to those people.Thanks to you I know what you mean by “street creds” and that Googling (SP?) my own name is not a sign of ego. I didn’t even know there were professional/social sites besides Face Book. Like I said when we first met, I just wanna sit at your feet and soak up the knowledge that drips off you. Messy metaphor but you know what I mean. Please keep on keeping on and never hold back. (HAH! Fat Chance!!)
    Penny

    Like

  9. Very enlightening. Of course the rules have changed. When I first started writing, the internet was nonexistent or brand new (and I’m not talking about 1969). But today’s writers need to know about starting a website and getting his/her name out there NOW, being a presence NOW, getting involved in reviews and reader groups and critique grouips NOW, not when the first query letter is sent.

    Like

  10. Hey, Sunny. You know I don’t have a blog, but I try to slut myself into as many as possible. Thanks for giving all of us that inside track! And see you at B-con, on the mystery cruise, and at CANADA’S OWN MYSTERY CONFERENCE, BLOODY WORDS JUNE 3-5, 2011 ON MAGICAL VANCOUVER ISLAND, A HOP FROM SEATTLE. http://www.bloodywords2011.com Just couldn’t resist tagging on this invite.

    Like

  11. Thanks to Sunny’s early advice I’m everywhere these days except at my keyboard working on my sequel. Maybe if I start recording what I’m muttering in my sleep those pages will finally start to write themselves.

    So how do we find the time to market well and write well. That is my question.

    Like

  12. Thank you, Sunny, for an interesting piece. It’s always great for the writer to be reminded that the person on the other side of the query letter is a real human being. I also found it interesting that word count can be a automatic rejection benchmark.

    Like

  13. Sunny, these folks are way too mild-mannered and polite 😉 Thank you for this—aspiring authors need to hear it and it doesn’t hurt to remind more established authors as well.

    As always, it has been a pleasure!

    Like

  14. Sunny, I am printing out your blog to give to the many wannabe writers who I just know will show up at my book signing this weekend. Such good advice. Say, wannabe my AGENT???
    Looking forward to meeting you on our Mystery Cruise to Die for in November.
    Anyone looking for a publisher should join the cruise. After all, Sunny, they’ll have you captive on a ship for seven whole days:) Beats the heck out of a ten minute pitch:) j

    Like

  15. When Sunny dons a third hat (after author and now acquisitions editor) it will be marketing coach. Maybe she’s already donned it–the lady is full of surprises. These words are gems and we all need to heed them.

    Like

  16. Wow! Where do I start with replies?
    Susan, loved meeting you and taking each other’s back in Nashville.
    Kathleen, writes complain about all the work it takes to market, but few people get to work in PJ’s. I’m with you on this.
    Madeline: Do a book cover cake with your next launch. The bakeries know how to do it.
    Lou, I love your use of the word “slut.” Can I steal it? Always look forward to meeting up with you. You’ll hate me after spending a week in a small cabin on the cruise!
    Mike, if I were acquisitions for the big houses, I’d be making MORE money!
    Cindy, I think we need a blog or survey to find out how to do both writing and marketing.
    Darden, we BLEED for you authors! I know what it’s like to be in your shoes. Can you imagine how it feels to be a part of starting someone’s career? And word count is all figured into the cost of producing books and the sale price.
    John, there were some personal issues that were resolved. Plus, there are now a few more editors at Oak Tree reading manuscripts I have no background with, like Romance. I’m clear on what makes a good mystery.
    Jinx, you’d be surprised at how many people want me to be an agent or promoter. But I hate to dance to someone else’s tune. It has to be fun.
    Jenny, I’m actually a marketing coach already. I have introduced the concept of The Posse. It became a buzz word at the Killer Nashville conference. Basically it’s “Give me your email, do what I tell you.” Even clueless authors soon pick up the nuances. I’m hoping they all go out and create their own posse.
    And to everyone, thanks for reading. I think if info can be given with a bit of humor people will remember it better.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.